top of page

Days 21-23: Over It

The authors of The Whole30 nailed it when they said on day 21 you'll say, "I am so over this." Due to food boredom in most cases, some people end up losing their appetite altogether for a day or two. As I look back on how little food I ate for lunch on day 23 (and 24) specifically, I wonder if it was truly due to food boredom or the fact that I didn't even have a single free period during the school day to sit down and eat a normal lunch. It's hard to say. It could be both really.

I know us teachers have a sweet deal with getting summer breaks and all, but during the school year, you can just forget eating lunch or peeing on your own schedule. *sigh*

Onto the food!

 

Day 21

Breakfast – 8:00 am

Lunch – 12:15 pm

  • Leftover spaghetti squash with homemade meat sauce

Snack – 5:15 pm

  • Apple with almond butter

I will completely admit that I was satisfying my sweet tooth with this snack. I also discovered that almond butter is a “food with no brakes” for me, especially when paired with an apple. I <3 almond butter.

Dinner – 8:00 pm

  • Pork chop with sautéed spinach and baked apples

 

Day 22

Breakfast – 7:20 am

  • Sausage and mushroom frittata with hot sauce

  • 2 slices of Pederson’s bacon

Lunch – 12:40 pm

  • Apple and banana fruit bar (from Trader Joe’s)

  • Roasted sweet potatoes with onions

  • Leftover salmon cakes

Snack – 5:30 pm

  • Apple with almond butter

Oh, hey look. There’s that snack again… UGH.

Dinner – 8:15 pm

  • Hamburger on a lettuce bun from Five Guys

  • 1 slice of Pederson’s bacon

Um, can you believe I was able to go to Five Guys and have a burger?! Of course, smelling the Cajun fries was the equivalent of being tortured, but you know… whatever. I topped my burger with lots of veggies and compliant mustard. (I ate it at home.)

 

Day 23

Breakfast – 7:20 am

  • Leftover sausage and mushroom frittata with hot sauce

Lunch – 11:45 am

  • Apple with almond butter

  • Sautéed mushrooms

Yeah, I ate an apple with almond butter three days in a row. Way to go, me. (Insert all the sarcasm.)

Snack – 7:30 pm

  • Tropical Greens blended juice from Nekter

Dinner – 9:00 pm

  • Salad with heirloom tomatoes, cucumber, watermelon, arugula, pistachios

  • Pears and apple slices

  • Salmon with arugula salad

I went out to eat at Cru Wine Bar for this meal, and it was pretty tasty! They were very accommodating to my many questions and requests.

 

Last but not least, exercise! I really felt like I was on a roll on days 21 and 22. I woke up early, went to the gym before work and didn't have to worry about working out for the rest of the day! It was great.

Day 21: 30 minutes of cardio on the treadmill

Day 22: I did Kayla Itsines' BBG Week 2 Abs & Arms.

Day 23: No workout - My streak ended.

bottom of page